walking???

I still have decent cocktail of drugs going on so I can’t guarantee that this will make any sense. I’ll sill start off by saying that I now have absolutely no doubt that we made the right decision. Yes I am in a lot of pain, this is the cool part, about a 6.5 on a 1-10 scale and decreasing. Before the chop I hovered around a 7 to an 8. I am still on drugs, because all the pain I am in is new pain, which means for the most part it will go away in the weeks to come.

Every morning for the last 14 years, 9 months and 2 days, when I would get out of bed and take the first couple of steps the only thought going through my head was this has got to stop. Most of those thoughts were doing a chop or a knee replacement. Because of the fact that a knee replacement would just lead to the same decision in a couple of years chopping it off made the most sense.

The recovery time is said to last 4-6 weeks. My Physical Therapist here in the hospital was amazed when she came in Friday to try and teach me how to use crutches. She said that most hobblers start in a wheelchair then a walker then to under arm crutches, about a week on all three. Forearm crutches are harder to use and from what she was saying take about 2 weeks to get used to. So when she showed up on Friday to take me for a walk down the hall she was a little taken back when I told here that I just got back from a smoke. She asked after noticing my forearm crutches if they got me a wheelchair and I said no I used my crutches. She didn’t believe me so said she would come back and wanted to see me walk again. After one time walking with me she came to the conclusion that I no longer need her assistance. I love being the exception to the rule

4 Comments

  1. Tarver there was no doubt in my mind that once you were able to get out of the hospital bed, you would be on the go. You probably have the nurses chasing after you to slow down!!!
    I’m glad to hear the pain is decreasing for you and hopefully each day you will have less and less pain. Better days are coming.
    You and Tara are in my thoughts and prayers. Talk to you soon.
    Love,
    Terri

  2. Tarver, you always exceed my expectations. I don’t expect anything less of you.

  3. Hey Tarver, I am glad to read that you are recovering in good order. Keep it up.

  4. Like Tara said on Saturday, pretty soon she won’t be able to keep up with you!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

