Oh the Drunk Dial

So I got drunk dialed a while ago by an ex. It has been a good three years since we last talked and I am still not sure what to do with hearing from her. For the most part I have processed and worked through the hurt that was done in that relationship both by me and to me. Apologies were made and in all honesty I was under the impression that I would never hear from this girl again. Tara and I were in NY and the call came in at about 2:30 in the morning. I thought that I recognized the # but I wasn’t sure. We talked for a little bit and caught each other up on the major happenings over the last years and left it at that.

This late night phone call causes an array of thoughts to spur in my head. I am a person that hates to say good-bye to or end a relationship. I understand the depth of relationships will change, but to end completely OUCH. This one on the other hand needed to end. Both of us were horrible to each other but yet we could not get enough of each other either. Back and forth over the years we would never quite end it. I was talking with Tara about her; I have such a rad wife. This ex of mine is a beautiful woman with a great head on her shoulders. She is more than capable of wise decisions and does make some. She is also a woman that has been shit on more than any I know. She is strong and takes the ride of life well and is deserving of commendation.

When things change, people die or relationships end it is so important to look back at the experience and take a survey. Mostly an assessment to make sure that you are processing the termination, finding where you are hurt, reconcile that hurt and go on.

And of course I have to show off my beautiful son

beautiful-smiling-boy.jpg

2 Comments

  1. What a sweet, sweet baby! Yep, I’ve had that drunk dial but it’s mostly “Can you come and get me…?” :-)) Not a good thing. I wonder if people feel forgotten and just want to make sure they matter? Ah, well. Kudos to your lovely wife!!

  2. i’ll get there…


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.